Jenie Yolland Glass Artist

Happy accident ending up being Chocolate & Orange Fused Glass Series

I am actually not a huge fan of chocolate, you can pass it around and I’ll probably say “no thank you”…. however, if you offer me chocolate that has any sort of orange in it, near it, beside it, within in,  I will be pushing old ladies out of my way to get to it.

yummy pudding

yummy pudding

I love the blend of chocolate and orange – anyone with me here?

Glass uncut for Chocolately Orange

Glass uncut for Chocolately Orange

I bought the glass like this.  It is gorgeous and bright orange and full of swirls of different oranges, when I first purchased it I thought it was going to end up this bright orange colour and I was wrong.

cutting strips

cutting strips

When I first designed this work I added orange glass fragments to the external trim of the design.  Here it is unfired.

Prepared chocolatey orange

Prepared chocolatey orange

I put them in the kiln and full fuse them to 760 degrees C which is about 1400 degrees F.  this changes the colour of the glass to cola kind of colour.

before firing kiln

before firing kiln

I was shocked that the orange centre swirls didn’t match the orange glass “frit” but you know, its ok cos I realized that it reminds me of chocolate together with orange – yay!

next morning Can you believe how different the colours are now?  I will be talking about how and why this happens in my blog here soon.

We now have both chocolate swirls and orange in the edge design of these works.  from the culinary chaseYum!

So now one of the regular items that I make for my galleries is called CHOCOLATE ORANGE, and I’m pleased to let you know that they sell like the proverbial hot cakes.   Here are some images of the finished pieces that are ready for a recent delivery.

Chocolate orange  20cm x 20cms.

?????????????????????????????????? ?????????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????????I wonder if you like this interesting accident and how it evolved?  I’m off to make a cake now – any guesses what its going to be?

Thank you for reading about my work.

20x20cm, 30x30cm & 20x35cm Chocolate Orange by Jenie Yolland

20x20cm, 30x30cm & 20x35cm Chocolate Orange by Jenie Yolland

If you want to see more of my work please visit http://www.etsy.com/shop/jensstudio alternatively you can find me on facebook 🙂

This entry was published on November 3, 2013 at 12:14 pm. It’s filed under Art glass platters and plates, Fused Glass Gift and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

