Jenie Yolland Glass Artist

Cheese anyone?

I am making large well really large cheese boards – they are 88cms long – I can make them longer but I will need you to come and collect it from my studio.

Giant leaf cheese board by Jenie Yolland

Giant leaf cheese board by Jenie Yolland

I start by creating the shape and size I want in newspaper     img_0033 (2) then I cut the basic shape out of 6mm clear glass

giant leaf first cuts

giant leaf first cuts

I use old fashioned tools to cut the glass, an oil filled cutter, running pliers and grozing pliers… 100_7014bug eaten edgesbecause leaves are subject to bugs and the extremes of weather, no leaf can be without little cut out bits around its edge….imagesso here is a close up of the sort of cut outs I create. a big bug has enjoyed this leafSo after I have worked on getting the glass to exactly the shape I want I start to prepare my kiln and fill it with casting plasterimg_0031which I purchase in very big bags. kiln picture Jenie Yolland casting plasterwhich I carefully level out and create the “mold” I need for my glass piece IMG_1803IMG_1811IMG_1812When the mold is ready I will grind all of the edges of the glass piece including the “cut outs”.  My glass grinder “bits” look like this.  In another post I’ll explain how they are made and how they work.

grinder bits

grinder bits

glass grinder in useand wash and dry it thoroughly and place it on the “mold”. IMG_1821 leaf in the kilnThe glass will be thoroughly cleaned and dried, and I will check that it is level before turning the kiln on… IMG_1822 - Copythen its ready for its firing.

ramp master kiln controller

ramp master kiln controller

of course I have experimented dozens of times to achieve the exact outcome I want for my glass pieces and so I programme my kiln accordingly….then pray to the kiln Gods that it works. customers with their leaf centrepieceHere are the customers with the first platter I made, you can see how big it is here….

Giant cheese platter by Jenie Yolland

Giant cheese platter by Jenie Yolland

IMG_3905You can see that the edge is soft and yet multidimensional. I hope you found my “step-by-step” process of how I make probably the worlds biggest glass cheese board!

Smaller - 50cm leaf Cheese Board by Jenie Yolland

Smaller – 50cm leaf Cheese Board by Jenie Yolland

Here is a picture of my smaller (50cm long) Cheese Board that I made recently.50cm leaf by Jenie Yolland (5)50cm leaf by Jenie Yolland (17)

Highly textured 50cm leaf cheese board by Jenie Yolland

Highly textured 50cm leaf cheese board by Jenie Yolland

Thank you for taking the time to read this post, feel free to share it if you’d like.  JY.

This entry was published on October 1, 2014 at 4:56 am. It’s filed under Art glass platters and plates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Cheese anyone?

  1. Pingback: Cheese anyone? | Well, This Is What I Think

Leave a Reply

